Smoking Season

image

It was finally a nice day today and the snow piles have melted enough that I was able to dig out the smoker! I acquired my offset smoker at the end of the fall last year and only had one chance to experiment with it before it got too cold. I have been waiting all winter long to try it again! What better way to get into warmer weather than smoking some ribs?

image

The first time I attempted smoking it was with charcoal and wood chips. This time I opted to use all wood, hickory. I made a rub of chili powder, onion and garlic powder, flower, black and white pepper, crushed red chili pepper, oregano, basil, and paprika and brown sugar. Smoking time was 3 hours. The end result was some of the juiciest flavorful ribs I have ever had! I can’t wait to do it again!

Hickory wood getting nice and hot

Hickory wood getting nice and hotimage

imageimage

 

About fireandicesaltandpepper

I am a firefighter/ paramedic in the town of Sterling, MA. I have been in this field for close to 10 years. Nothing relaxes me more after a shift than coming to my kitchen, cracking a beer, and creating something amazing for dinner!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Smoking Season

Leave a comment