Hickory Smoked Pulled Pork

ImageAs they days get warmer my taste inevitably turns towards that which defines the season, and for me that means BBQ! Since obtaining my smoker I have been dying to try pulled pork. Prior to today anytime I’ve made pulled pork has been in the crock pot, which is still good, but lacks everything that makes pulled pork amazing, specifically the smoke. 

ImageI used a 3.5 lbs cut of pork butt with the bone in. The rub was as follows:

  • 1 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp of chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp white pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp paprika

Mix all of the ingredients in a zip lock back and apply liberally to all sides of the meat. After the rub has been applied I allow it to sit on the pork for at least an hour in the refrigerator, letting all those flavors meld together. 

While the meat is sitting I started the smoker using charcoal and hickory wood chunks, the smell was amazing! When the coals were good and hot I  added the pork butt to the smoker and there it sat for just about 3 hours.

ImageObviously you can’t have pulled pork without some kind of barbeque sauce, and I’ve tried just about every bottled brand I can find at the store and do you know what? They all taste like syrup or fake smoke. I wanted something more authentic. For the last few years I’ve perfected a home made sauce which is a chili sauce and molasses base and it is the best I have had. Granted, I am biased, but if you haven’t yet try making your own sauce sometime, the difference is amazing!

BBQ Sauce

  • 2 jars of chili sauce
  • 1- 1 1/2 Cups of molasses
  • 1 tbsp ketchup
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp minced onion
  • 1 tbsp garlic powder

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and heat over medium low heat for about 15 minutes but don’t let it boil and set aside until pork is done.

Image

Now it’s 3 hours later and your yard is filled with aroma of smoke and pork, also known as Nirvana. By now I was starving, in came the pork where it rested, covered by tented aluminum foil, for 20 minutes and then pulled apart. While I was pulling the pork the sauce was heating on the stove top at medium low heat. Once all of the meat was pulled into the sauce it went. Finally came the best part, taking that first bite, and you know what? It was just as amazing as I envisioned.Image

 

 

About fireandicesaltandpepper

I am a firefighter/ paramedic in the town of Sterling, MA. I have been in this field for close to 10 years. Nothing relaxes me more after a shift than coming to my kitchen, cracking a beer, and creating something amazing for dinner!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

