Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Chicken

Cheesey Baked Goodness

Cheesey Baked Goodness

So now that summer has come to a close and the sun sets earlier it’s time to move away from the grill and back to the oven. While I was trying to figure out what I wanted to make tonight my mind turned to college food. While I was in college I lived a fire station in southern Maine and dinners often had to be quick and not tie up the kitchen for long so others could cook. More than once I enjoyed a frozen chicken breast stuffed with cheese and broccoli from the frozen food aisle and it was delicious but good lord was it unhealthy! I wanted to enjoy those flavors again but with less sodium and cholesterol. I devised a plan on making homemade Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Chicken! To begin with i would need:

  • 1 package of boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 package of shredded reduced fat cheddar jack cheese
  • 1 package of frozen broccoli florrets or approx 2 cups fresh chopped broccoli
  • 2 cups of panko bread crumbs
  • 2 eggs
  • salt and pepper

Begin by preheating your oven to 350. Next, you want to start by butterflying your chicken breasts and using a kitchen mallet pound them to approximately 1/4-1/2 inch thick and sprinkle cracked salt and pepper on either side. Place 1 Tbsp of shredded cheese in the middle of each chicken breast and 1-1 1/2 Tbsp of broccoli on top of the cheese. Carefully fold each breast in half and secure with toothpicks, if you are like me you use half a box of toothpicks!

In a small ball whisk together two eggs for an egg wash and place the bread crumbs in a separate bowl. Carefully dunk each chicken ball in the egg wash then in the bread crumbs and place on a cookie sheet which has been sprayed with cooking spray and bake for 40-45 minutes until chicken is cooked through. I served with additional broccoli and basil couscous. Tasted even better than I remembered!

photo 2 (1)

To start w

About fireandicesaltandpepper

I am a firefighter/ paramedic in the town of Sterling, MA. I have been in this field for close to 10 years. Nothing relaxes me more after a shift than coming to my kitchen, cracking a beer, and creating something amazing for dinner!
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

