Mother’s Day

How do you show your love for your mother? How do you let her know you appreciate everything she has done throughout your life? The answer is simple, BBQ! What better way to welcome family over than with Smoked Chicken?  In my novice experience of smoking meat I have stuck to the simple  ribs and small chunks of chicken. I decided to get a little more bold and attempt a whole chicken, and oh boy was I rewarded for my efforts! The process began 24 hours with brining a 7 lbs oven roaster chicken. The Brine was:

  • 1 gal of water
  • 1 cup of salt
  • 1/4 cup of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of honey
  • 2 tbs herbs de providence
  • 2 tbs basil
  • 2 tbs thyme
  • 2 tbs sage
  • 2 bay leaves
Brine

Brine

This wonderful mix was left to sit for 24 hours while I dreamed up tasting delicious smoked meat. After 24 hours rinse the bird under cool water and pat dry. At this point I had begun a bed of coals and hickory wood in the smoker building up a nice heat. The chicken was coated with a tbs of olive oil and a rub of the previous mentioned herbs plus paprika, cumin, chili powder, garlic powder. I stuffed the cavity with sliced apple and onion, tied the wings and legs and onto the smoker it went.
Pre Smoked ChickenSmoking

4 hours of smoking and I was salivating at the smells coming from my smoker. The guest soon arrived and a slight anxiety set in, what if it was over cooked and dry? What if it was under cooked and wasn’t going to be ready? These fears were put to rest as soon as I cut into the breast. What sliced off was some of the juiciest, most flavorful chicken I have ever had. Served with a side of mixed grilled vegetables the end result was amazing.

Smoked Chicken

Smoked Chicken

About fireandicesaltandpepper

I am a firefighter/ paramedic in the town of Sterling, MA. I have been in this field for close to 10 years. Nothing relaxes me more after a shift than coming to my kitchen, cracking a beer, and creating something amazing for dinner!
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

